VMware certifications
Home » VMware Certification Guide: Overview and Career Paths

VMware Certification Guide: Overview and Career Paths

VMware certifications consist of two different virtualization areas – Data Center Virtualization and Desktop Virtualization. VMware is a software company that develops desktop and server virtualization software that helps businesses and companies perform IT operations throughout the cloud, in data centers, mobile devices, and across a company’s IT infrastructure. VMware services include consulting, training, technical support, and a certification program. The vSphere is VMware’s flagship data center. Other VMware products are the vRealize Suite, vSAN, and Horizon.

VMware Virtualization Program Overview

Vmware certificates are majorly based on some versions of vSphere, a proprietary technology. Currently, exams for Version 6 certifications are phasing out, and Version 7 ones are introduced. VMware courses are primarily categorized into six categories:

  • Data Centre Virtualization
  • Desktop and Mobility
  • Digital Business Transformation
  • Cloud Management and Automation
  • Digital Workspace
  • Network Virtualization

Moreover, all these certification categories offer four different levels – Associate, Professional, Advanced Professional, and Design Expert. Association-level certifications require individuals to appear for a single test. For professional and advanced professional levels, candidates have to earn the required certification as a prerequisite and pass the respective exam. The Expert Design level certification requires individuals to possess several certifications as prerequisites.

  1. VMware Data Centre Virtualization (DCV)

The VMware Data Centre Virtualization certifications validate individuals for their expertise in vSphere 6 and vSphere 6.5. Therefore, there are two VMware Certified Professional (VCA) 6 and 6.5 – Data Centre Virtualization (DCV) certifications.

Both these certifications require individuals to possess at least six months of working experience with VMware infrastructure technologies. These certifications validate candidates for their proficiency in installing, executing, and handling VMware vSphere environments.

There are three VMware Certified Advanced Professional (VCAP) level Data Centre Virtualization certifications (DCV) –

  • VCAP 6.5 – DCV Design
  • VCAP 6 – DCV Deploy
  • VCAP 6 – DCV Design
  1. VMware Desktop and Mobility (DTM)

VMware Desktop and Mobility certificates are ideal for IT candidates who can manage and deploy VMware’s View environments and VMware Horizon.

The professional-level VMware Desktop and Mobility course includes – VCP7-DTM. This course is intended for professionals possessing a minimum of six months of experience using Horizon 7 and vSphere 7 with View.

The Desktop and Mobility certification for vSphere 6 is also available, focusing on Horizon 6 and vSphere 6 with View.

The advanced professional-level Desktop and Mobility courses include:

  • VCAP6 DTM Deploy
  1. VMware Digital Business Transformation (DBT)

The VMware Certified Associate (VCA) – Digital Business Transformation (DBT) certification is intended for architects and executives possessing a strong understanding of technologies related to vRealize, vSphere, NSX, vSAN, and VMware Cloud Foundation.

  1. VMware Cloud Management and Automation (CMA)

This VMware Certification category validates individuals for their skills possessing in-depth cloud computing knowledge and using VMware’s vRealize and vCloud Suite.

There are two VMware VCP Cloud Management and Automation (CMA) certifications – one associated with V7 (VCA7-CMA) and the other with V6 (VCA6-CMA). The VCP7-CMA certification is intended for candidates possessing six months of working experience in vRealize.

Three advanced professional-level Cloud Management and Automation (CMA) courses involve:

  • VCAP7-CMA Design
  • VCAP6-CMA Design
  • VCAP6-CMA Deploy

This category also includes design expert-level certification – VMware Certified Design Expert 7 – Cloud Management and Automation (VCDX7-CMA). This certification is ideal for professionals and architects who can design, plan, and implement solutions on vSphere and vCloud.

  1. VMware Digital Workspace (DW)

The VMware DW certification is ideal for IT candidates who can install, configure, manage, deploy, optimize, maintain, and troubleshoot Workspace ONE solutions. There is only one Digital Workspace certification that falls under the professional level, i.e., VCP-DW 2018.

  1. VMware Network Virtualization (NV)

The VMware Network Virtualization Certification validates It professionals for their skills in designing, implementing, and managing VMware NSX environments. This profession-level VMware NSX Certification involves two different tracks – NXS-T and NSX-V.

There is only one advanced professional-level NV certification – VCAP6-NV Deploy, which requires candidates to earn VCAP6-NV certification. The highest level of certification in NV is VMware Design Expert 6 – Network Virtualization (VCDX6-NV).

Professional-level certification in NV, DCV, CMA and DTM require individuals to appear for the respective VMware Foundation Exam.


Koenig Solutions is the world’s renowned training provider of IT certifications. There are more than 80 VMware courses available and are taught by VMware expert instructors. It is a Premier VMware Authorized Training Centre, allowing individuals to customize their certifications depending upon business requirements. Therefore, this training centre is successful in providing VMware training.

Zaraki Kenpachi