Home » Hierarchy of Angels in Christian Angelology

Hierarchy of Angels in Christian Angelology

Angels are created by God for our protection. They reside in heaven with God and pay their loyalty to him.

According to Christian angelology, there are different orders of angels. What we mean is angels are divided into different ranks. It is said that angels that are highest in rank are closer to God, while the ones that are lowest in rank are closer to mankind.

The hierarchy of angels is divided into three spheres including the first, second, and third spheres. We have broken down the order of angels in the post below.

First Sphere

  • Seraphim

Seraphim are the highest rank of angels. They serve as attendants or guardians before God’s throne. They are even mentioned in the Holy Bible v in Isaiah 6:1-7. They praise God and obey his every decision. These angels are believed to have six wings, out of which two of their wings cover their faces, two cover their feet and the other two are used for flying.

  • Cherubim

The second in rank comes the Cherubim angels. These angels are believed to have a manlike appearance. They have two wings and serve as guardians of God’s glory. They are mentioned in the New Testament and are believed to be celestial attendants in the Apocalypse as referred to in Revelation 4-6.

  • Thrones

The next rank of angels in the First Sphere is Thrones. This class of angels is mentioned by the Apostle Paul in Colossians 1:16. They are the angels of peace, humility, and submission. When the lower rank of angels needs to access God, they have to go through the Thrones.

Second Sphere

  • Dominions

Dominions are the group of angels who are responsible for keeping the world in order. They deliver justice on God’s behalf during unjust situations and show mercy toward humankind. They also help lower rank angels to work efficiently and in order.

  • Virtues

Virtues are known for their control of the elements. They are also known as “the shining ones.” They also help in governing nature. Besides that, they also assist with miracles. They encourage humans to have faith in God. 

  • Powers

Powers are Warrior Angels and fight against evil. They not only defend the cosmos, but also humankind. They are called Powers because they have power over the devil.

Third Sphere

  • Principalities

Principalities are known to pass command over the lower choir of angels. Besides that, they also direct the fulfilment of God’s orders. These angels are often called Rules or Princedoms as they directly watch over large institutions and groups. These angels are powerful and wise. Since they are away from the angelic hierarchy, they are better able to communicate with humankind.

  • Archangels

Archangels are referred to as the heralds of the Good News. They deliver important messages sent by God to mankind. These are the angels you call upon and communicate with. Among all archangels, Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael are the most popular ones. They are mentioned in several Holy Scriptures.

  • Angels

The angels are closest to human beings. They help in delivering our prayers and other messages to God. These angels are the most social and caring of all the other angels. It is easier to communicate with them. Not just that, but you can also ask them for help. According to Scripture, angels have various responsibilities in God’s Kingdom. There are some special circumstances when angels may visit us.

No matter what choir of angels you talk about, they are all created by the Almighty. All angels serve God and are loyal to him. Those who obey Him are banished from heaven and are known as the fallen angels.

Zaraki Kenpachi